Lewis and Clark Trail Museum
Get In Contact
The museum in Alexander is situated along the Lewis and Clark Trail. The museum opened in 1969 and showcases an impressive collection of homesteader family heirlooms, antique farming equipment, and other items reminiscent of the town's unique history. The collections are housed in the original three-story schoolhouse, which was built in 1914 and served the town's schoolchildren until 1967. There are additional historical outbuildings which outline the campus, including a sheep herder's wagon, a homestead-era cook car, and a log cabin. A recent notable addition is that of several petrified tree stumps, displayed on the front lawn of the campus, which were unearthed during the construction of the 85 bypass.
Before you leave, treat yourself to a specialty drink inside the Charbonneau School building at James Gang Java which is located on the campus.
Admission to the museum is free. We greatly appreciate donations by our patrons.
- Facility Amenities
- Historic Marker
- General Information
- Free Admission